Policy responses for Russian Federation - HSRM

Russian Federation

Policy responses for Russian Federation

1.3 Isolation and quarantine

The early approach to isolation and quarantine focused on international travellers. In January and early February, Russians repatriated from Wuhan and the Diamond Princess cruise ship were placed under a 14-day quarantine at designated facilities. On 2 March, this was extended to all persons returning from the Islamic Republic of Iran and the Republic of Korea. From 5 March, the Mayor of Moscow required mandatory registration upon arrival from any country with COVID-19 cases and, in addition to Federal instructions for the People’s Republic of China, the Islamic Republic of Iran and the Republic of Korea, self-isolation for citizens arriving from France, Germany, Italy and Spain in the previous 14 days. From 16 March, compulsory self-isolation in Moscow was extended to travellers from the United States of America, the United Kingdom, the European Union, Ukraine, Belarus and all other non-EU countries in Europe. Those living in the same household were then also required to self-isolate for the same period. Moscow used its network of facial recognition cameras to enforce quarantine.

Rospotrebnadzor conducts thermal imaging screenings at all border crossings for people arriving from countries with established outbreaks.

From 31 December 2019 to 21 February 2021,  14,763,500 people were screened and 908 people with signs of infectious diseases were identified.  In all instances, a full range of measures was in place to prevent further deterioration of the epidemiological situation.

These people were asked to complete a questionnaire and suitable quarantine arrangements were made. So far, in 2020, 8,370,940 people have been quarantined in the Russian Federation as a whole, and as of 21 February 2021, 592,507 people remain under quarantine.

For asymptomatic people who cannot self-isolate, the regions can provide 365 facilities with 34,144 beds, of which 127 facilities and 15,919 beds are currently open, and accommodating 2,389 people (https://www.rospotrebnadzor.ru/about/info/news/news_details.php?ELEMENT_ID=16342).

Since 19 March, two-week isolation at home or at hospital (depending on the regional epidemiological situation) is mandatory for all people entering the country, even if they showed no symptoms of coronavirus infection, a measure that also applies to all members of their household. Medical institutions can issue sick leave certificates remotely, without a face-to-face examination, for all citizens required to self-isolate, as well as for the members of their households. On 23 April, following outbreaks in several regions, the Ministry of Labour and Social Welfare recommended the quarantine of residents and staff in nursing homes and long-term care facilities for mentally disabled people for 14 days. As of 27 April, these facilities were completely closed for quarantine in 29 regions and partially closed in 46 regions.

From 28 March, isolation measures were extended to the whole country (see Section 1.2) and only confirmed COVID cases are hospitalized. As of 25 March, the Moscow Health Department allows mild COVID-19 cases to receive treatment and recover at home under the care of visiting PHC medical teams following standardized protocols and strict quarantine (see Section 3.2).

There is administrative liability for breaching quarantine measures, especially if the breach leads to a new person being infected, and there is criminal liability if the infection leads to death.

From 15 July, on return to the Russian Federation, foreigners should present a SARS-Cov-2 PCR test result taken 3 days before arrival while Russian citizens should take it 3 days before or 3 days after arrival at the latest. The 14-day quarantine will be lifted for people arriving through regular flights but still applies to foreigners arriving for work purposes and Russian citizens arriving on repatriation flights (https://www.rospotrebnadzor.ru/files/news/%D0%9F%D0%BE%D1%81%D1%82%D0%B0%D0%BD%D0%BE%D0%B2%D0%BB%D0%B5%D0%BD%D0%B8%D0%B5%2013072020.pdf). From 1 August, passengers arriving through regular flights from Tanzania, Turkey and the United Kingdom will be exempted from quarantine requirements (see Section 6, Transition measures).

The emergency operations centre responsible for the prevention of importation and spread of the novel coronavirus infection decided to temporarily discontinue flight connection to the UK due to deterioration of the epidemiological situation there. Restrictions come into force at 00:00 on 22 December 2020 and remain valid for a week (http://government.ru/news/41178/).